Diabetes and the sweet potato

Ever since I was diagnosed with type-2 diabetes in March I have been carefully watching what I eat. I am not obsessed with counting calories or carbs (yet) but I do keep an eye on my sugar and fat intake. I have also been researching a lot about what I should and shouldn’t eat. (Surprisingly there is not a lot that I cannot eat, though some things must only be consumed in small diabetic doses.)

The softer, orange-fleshed variety of sweet po...

The softer, orange-fleshed variety of sweet potato, commonly referred to as a yam in the United States (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Surprisingly, one food that comes highly recommended for a diabetic is the sweet potato… Some people even claim that it can increase the insulin in your body and therefore decreasing blood glucose. So I dutifully popped down to my local shop, and purchased some sweet potatoes. I turned the first couple into sweet potato wedges with just a little thyme, which were quite tasty. Now however, I have wondered what else I can do with the humble sweet potato, so I thought I would ask you, my humble readers to bless me with your knowledge;
What do you suggest I do with a sweet potato?

Created on the fly with WordPress for BlackBerry.

Tags: , ,

About Wesley

Like most people one day Wesley will die. Until then though, Wesley spends his days drinking coffee, watching the telly, and listening to BBC Radio... and on the days he is at work watching trains under the ground. Away from work he putters around in the kitchen, tends to his fish, watches films and occasionally reads a book, or works in his garden. Wesley is also a keen father to his two little princesses, and a slave to his wife.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Spanish Tortilla with Sweet Potatoes | Alison Amazed - May 27, 2012

Say something...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 194 other followers

