Banana Pancakes… don’t forget the eggs!

This is a recipe that I found in the January edition of Good Food Magazine, and I immediately thought of two things when I saw it… The first was that Jack Johnson once sang a song about Banana Pancakes and the second was, my kids will love this!

So with my humble cookery magazine and a bit of Jack Johnson for inspiration I decided that I would cook up a weekend treat for my girls… And all seemed to be going well, except that the mixture was a bit thick, but having never made these delectable treats I just thought that was the way it was… So I cooked up a stack and we all tucked in, and to be honest, they were not terrible but certainly they were not as good as I hoped…

…And about an hour later I learned why my little pancake adventure was not the roaring success I had hoped for when my wife yelled out from the kitchen “what are these eggs for on the counter???”

That is when I realised that I had made up the batter, but had forgotten to put in any eggs.

The next weekend I tried them again, and I must say they are a nice tasty weekend breakfast, but remember to check that you added the eggs to the mixture, they truly make all the difference.

  • Preparation time: 10 minutes
  • Cooking time: 20 minutes
  • Serves: 4 people (makes around 10 pancakes)

Ingredients

  • 140 g/5 oz self-raising flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tbsp light soft brown sugar
  • 2 ripe bananas, 1 mashed, one thinly sliced
  • 2 large eggs
  • 25 g/1 oz butter, plus a little extra for cooking
  • 125 ml/4 oz milk
  • maple syrup (to serve)

Method

  1. Mix the flour, baking powder and sugar. Make a well in the center and add the mashed bananas, eggs, butter and milk.
  2. Heat a little butter in a large frying pan, then ladle in small dollops of the pancake batter, leaving a little  space between each. Put 2 or 3 slices of banana on each and cook for 2 minutes over a medium heat. When you see bubbles appear between the banana slices flip the pancake over and cook for one minute more, until puffed up and golden.

 

Say something...

