A quick bite to eat before dashing off to the inlaws!

Now that my kitchen has been rebuilt it is time to have my lounge torn apart and modernised. It is not the huge job that my kitchen was, but I am having part of my chimney removed, which could be very messy. So in order for the family and I to avoid living in a construction site, we are moving in to Domesticated Mum’s parents house while they are away on a cruise.

Before I dash off though I thought I would share a quick breakfast recipe from the BBC Good Food magazine for you all to try while I am away. It is not only delicious, but also nutritious, and it only takes about 15 minutes to prepare.

Apple and Sultana Porridge

  • Preparation time: 10 mins
  • Cooking time: 5 mins

Ingredients

  • 100g/4oz porridge oats
  • 500ml/18 fl oz skimmed milk
  • 4 apples, cored and diced
  • 100g/4oz sultanas (or raisins)
  • few dashes of ground cinnamon to serve

Method

  1. Put the oats and milk in a small pan and cook, stirring for 3 minutes until almost creamy.
  2. Stir in the apples and sultanas, then cook for 3 mins more or until the porridge is thick and creamy and the apples are just tender.
  3. Sprinkle with cinnamon to taste.
One thought on “A quick bite to eat before dashing off to the inlaws!

Say something...

