My first treat of Christmas… Fudge

This holiday season I have decided to treat myself and my family to as many homemade goodies as I can make (and afford; man food is getting expensive in London). So I started today with a recipe I have wanted to try for ages, Tresillian Fudge.

The name Tresillian is really just the name of the town in Cornwall where this recipe migrated up to London from, but it does give this simple fudge a much more posh sounding name… And we all know food with “posh” sounding names tastes better.

Tresillian Fudge

Ingredients

  • 900g granulated sugar
  • 225ml whole milk
  • 397g tin of condensed milk
  • 225g unsalted butter
  • 2 tbsp golden syrup
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • vegetable oil for greasing

Method

  1. Grease a 23 cm by 33 cm Swiss roll tin with oil; or use any shallow baking tin available.
  2. Put the sugar and milk in a pan over a medium heat, stirring until the sugar has dissolved.
  3. Add the condensed milk and butter, stirring until the butter has melted.
  4. Increase the heat and bring to the boil.
  5. Add the golden syrup and boil for about 15 minutes, stirring until it reaches the soft ball stage (when dropped in water the drop will form a soft ball) or 115ºC on a sugar thermometer (this is the method I used).
  6. Remove from the heat and beat in the vanilla (be careful it is very hot, and it does sputter a bit).
  7. Beat the fudge for about 10 minutes until it begins to thicken and set around the edges. The pour into the tin and leave to cool

I have been told this fudge will last for 2 to 3 weeks wrapped in baking paper in an airtight container, personally I think you will probably eat it all before then.

One thought on “My first treat of Christmas… Fudge

Say something...

