October… apples, spooky treats and an Indian feast!

October is here, the days are becoming shorter, the kids are showing signs of being sick of school and soon it will be time to switch on the central heating and start running up the gas bill. It all sounds depressing, but there is also some fun and excitement to look forward to, for the kids there is the annual candy-fest Halloween at the end of the month, and for my Hindu friends Diwali, the festival of lights is at the end of the month, which is a perfect excuse for me to get into the kitchen and try my hand at a bit of Indian cooking.

October is also the month that British apples are at their best, so I’ve looked at some recipes to use my favourite fruit with, and I am sure I will be able to whip up a tasty treat for my little darlings… And maybe Domesticated Mum as well!

So don’t let the fear of the coming winter ruin your October, grab your unused kitchen gadgets, your worn knives and an apron and pop into the kitchen and rustle up some delicious Autumn dishes… And pop back to the blog while you are waiting for your Victoria sandwich to bake and discover what I’ve been up to in the kitchen.

Say something...

