All about eggs. Part Three; poaching

OK I have learned how to test for freshness and how to boil an egg, so I suppose the next step on my journey to mastering the egg is to learn to poach one. After all how hard can it be; it is basically just boiling an egg outside of its shell… Isn’t it?

Method #1 – the whirlpool method

This is the method my Mom used to use when people from outside the family were around. I think she liked to impress them with her culinary skills. The few times I have tried it though, I have ended up with a mass of egg that looks a bit like egg noodles with a yolk. However, when nobody is about, I think I will give it another try!

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Method #2 – the metal ring method

This looks like the easiest method, but my mother would say it is cheating. Still the eggs end up tasting the same as the whirlpool method, and there doesn’t seem to be as much mess.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

2 thoughts on “All about eggs. Part Three; poaching

  1. Pingback: All about eggs. Part 4; how to fry « Slightly Domesticated Dad

  2. Pingback: All about eggs. Part Five; scrambled eggs « Slightly Domesticated Dad

Say something...

