“I love it when a plan comes together”

Domesticated Mum works in the ‘food biz’. She is a wedding and events co-ordinator for a major hotel change, and she knows her stuff when it comes to planning events involving food. So when she told me that I had better come up with a menu and formulate a plan to make my Christmas dinner a success, I took her advice and got to work.

My 5 step fool-proof plan for making a menu plan.

So now that I know I have to make a menu for my Christmas meal the next logical step would be to make a plan, because planning is, as I have been told, the key to success!

Don’t fear though, planning is something that I am good at, and if you follow my step-by-step foolproof plan for making a plan I am sure nothing can go wrong (no guarantee though).

  1. Decide how many guests you’ll have, and make sure you make this decision as soon as possible, but at least two weeks in advance. It is also a good idea to note the ages of your guests, as I can assure you a seven-year old may tell you they can eat like an adult, but they certainly won’t especially after they have raided the chocolate selection.
  2. Prepare your menu, remembering to consider your guests dietary requirements, culinary likes/dislikes and your cooking expertise. I mention cooking expertise because it is no use putting Baked Alaska on the menu if you haven’t a clue on how to make it. Also make sure you have the equipment on hand to prepare your menu, because I have been told it is very messy trying to cook a turkey without a roasting tin.
  3. Organise your menu into ‘to-do’ lists, recipe cards, and preparation steps. .
  4. Make a shopping list, remembering to check and double check your recipes so that you don’t forget anything.
  5. Make a timetable. Remember some of the food you are going to serve in your menu can be prepared or at least partially prepared in advance and it is a good idea to do as much as possible before the big day. After all nobody wants to be spending all of Christmas day in the kitchen… Unless of course you are hiding from the in-laws!

CLICK HERE TO SEE A SAMPLE MENU

Say something...

